Sales Assist: Frequently Asked Questions

Follow

Got a question about Sales Assist? Here are some answers to the most commonly asked questions about Sales Assist.


 

When I create my own content Items, how does Sales Assist set the thumbnail image?

When you create your own content Item, Sales Assist will look in the metadata of the content to try and find a thumbnail image. If it can find a suitable image, it uses it to create a thumbnail for the Item.

If there is no suitable image in the metadata, Sales Assist can't create a thumbnail. When that happens, you can simply edit the Item to add an image of your choice (either from a URL, or from Sales Assist's image library).

 

I can't add an image to my content Item. What's going wrong?

The most common cause of this problem is using a URL that does not point directly to an image file. This usually happens with images you copy from Google Image Search. For example, this URL will display an image, but it's not the actual image URL, so it won't work:

https://images.app.goo.gl/YejzQbEzNytTzKb57

What you're looking for is a URL that ends with an image file extension, like .jpg or .png. In Chrome, you can get this by right-clicking on an image, then clicking on Copy image address. If you do that on the image in the link above, you'll get this (valid) image URL instead:

https://www.uberflip.com/content-experience/What%20is%20a%20Content%20Experience_%20_%20Uberflip_files/content-experience-framework-uberflip-1.png

 

If I create a content Item using a link to Google Docs (or Slides, Sheets, etc.), what do I need to do before sharing it with a prospect?

To ensure that they can see the content, you need to set up the Share permissions for the Google Doc to give at least your recipient "Can view" permission. If you expect the recipient to share the content with others in their organization, you have two options:

  • You can set the Share permissions for the Google Doc to "Anyone with the link can view", which allows the recipient to freely share it with others. If you choose this option, remember that anyone will be able to see the content, so be careful with sensitive content.
  • As an alternative, you can also simply leave the permissions set to only your intended recipient initially. When they share the content, additional people who want to view it will be prompted to request permission: these requests will be sent to you, which allows you to capture new potential leads within a sales cycle (as well as retain access control over sensitive content).

 

When I create a content Item using a link to Dropbox, why does it show "View File on Dropbox" instead of the file itself?

Dropbox prevents content that it hosts from being displayed in an iframe, so when you create an Item in Sales Assist using a Dropbox link, it'll always show a "View File on Dropbox" message rather than the content itself.

In general, we recommend using a service other than Dropbox to host files that you want to use with Sales Assist. If you must use Dropbox, the iFramer app has a feature that allows content from Dropbox to be iframed. Sales Assist integrates automatically with iFramer, so if you install iFramer and configure it to display Dropbox content, Sales Assist will display Dropbox content as well.

 

What happens to notifications that come in while Sales Assist is not open?

Sales Assist will display notifications as long as it is open and logged in somewhere in your browser: either in an open tab (even if it's not the active tab), or in the Chrome extension.

If Sales Assist is not currently logged in and open anywhere, it will hold any notifications that come in and display them the next time the user logs in to Sales Assist. Plus, you can also view past activity notifications in the Shares section of the app.

 

Why won't the Chrome extension open on some tabs?

The Chrome extension is basically an iframe of the Sales Assist app. Some websites, such as LinkedIn, do not allow iframes to be displayed. As a result, the Sales Assist extension won't open whenever the active browser tab is displaying a website that restricts iframes.

 

Why did Sales Assist not notify me when someone viewed a link to a destination Stream or content Item that I shared with them?

Sales Assist can only notify you of views for links generated by Sales Assist. These links contain a special "share token" that allows the app to identify when someone visits the linked page. If you simply share the regular Stream or Item URL, this doesn't include the share token, so Sales Assist has no way of knowing (and notifying you) when someone visits the page.

If you're also a Flipbot user, note that the way it monitors activity is different than Sales Assist. As a result, it's possible to receive a Flipbot notification but not a Sales Assist notification for activity on the same page.

 

Can I hide certain Items or Streams so that they don't show up in Sales Assist?

Sales Assist uses Uberflip's built-in Show in Extensions Stream setting to determine whether or not to surface content in Search: if this setting is turned off for a Stream, Items in that Stream won't be displayed in Sales Assist.

To turn off this setting for any Stream, open the Stream in Uberflip and click on the Options tab, then toggle the Show in Extensions setting to the off position.

 

If an Uberflip Item is set up to redirect the visitor to its canonical URL, will Sales Assist send a notification if a recipient visits that Item?

In order to track whether a link was visited and send a notification to the user who shared it, Sales Assist needs the linked page to finish loading. With an Item that redirects to a canonical URL this wouldn't happen, so for these Items, Sales Assist is not able to do tracking and notifications.

 

In what order does Sales Assist show Items in the Search section? Can I change the way the search results are ordered?

Sales Assist orders content search results (i.e. Items displayed in the Search section) based on how often they've been shared: the more an Item has been shared, the higher up it appears. Share count is determined by the number of Sales and Marketing Streams an Item has been added to, so an Item that has been added to a total of 10 Marketing and/or Sales Streams would rank higher than one that's only in 3 Streams.

At this time it's not possible to change how content search results are ordered, however we are exploring options for adding the ability to sort in other ways, such as by publish date.

 

What if I have a question that's not answered here?

If you have a question we haven't answered here yet, please feel free to ask it in the comments and we'll get back to you with an answer as soon as possible.

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.