Severity levels and response times for support requests


Wondering what Severity means when you submit a support request? Learn how the different severity levels are defined, and which one you should choose for your ticket.


What is "Severity"?

Not all support requests are the same: sometimes you might need to let us know that your entire Hub is broken, while other times you just want to ask a question.

That's why we ask you to indicate the severity of the issue you're experiencing whenever you submit a support ticket to the Uberflip Support team:


The Severity field is how you tell us how big of an impact the issue is having on your system. Choosing the right severity level for your request is important, because it helps the Support team to prioritize your request and ensure it's resolved in a timely manner.


How do I choose a severity level?

There are five severity levels, representing a scale that ranges from critical impact (Severity 1) to no impact (Severity 5). Remember: lower severity level number = higher impact.

Each severity level has a particular definition, which you can see in the table below. These definitions are intended as guidelines: use them to find the severity level that is the best fit for the issue you're experiencing, even if it doesn't match the definition exactly.

Severity Level Impact Definition Committed Initial Response Time
Severity 1 Critical

A production system is down or a mission critical failure in a production system is imminent.

This is a showstopper: the system is not usable until the issue is fixed, and no workaround is available.

1 Hour

Severity 2 High

The issue is causing a loss of key functionality which affects significant aspects of the business or operations.

Something major isn't working, but the system is still usable to an extent.

3 Hours

Severity 3 Moderate

The issue affects an isolated component, but this is not affecting the ability of the system to perform in accordance with the documentation.

In general, the system is working normally except for a limited portion.

6 Hours

Severity 4 Low

A minor issue: the system is still fully usable with limitations or workarounds

24 Hours

Severity 5 None This request is about something with no system impact. This includes things like feature requests, account requests, general inquiries, etc. 48 Hours


Note that each severity level is associated with an initial response time commitment (or "SLA"). This means that when you choose a particular severity level, you can expect an initial response within the indicated time.

Keep in mind that "initial response" means that Support will look at your ticket and send you a reply within the specified time — it does not necessarily mean that your issue will be resolved during that time.


What if I choose the wrong severity level?

Don't worry too much about getting the severity level for your support request "just right". Its purpose is to help us understand and prioritize your issue as quickly as possible, so just do your best to choose the severity level that best represents the situation, using the definitions above as a guide.

If necessary, we may adjust the severity level of your ticket so that it more accurately reflects the impact of the issue. If that happens, we will of course let you know, and explain why the change was made.

And remember, choosing a lower-impact severity level doesn't mean you'll have to wait a long time for a reply! Even if you submit a Severity 5 ticket, you'll still get an initial response within 48 hours at most.

4 out of 4 found this helpful



Please sign in to leave a comment.